CENTRAL STATES ANTHROPOLOGICAL SOCIETY ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES OMAHA, NEBRASKA APRIL 8, 2006

Item 1. President Pat Gray called the meeting to order at 12:45pm. President Feinberg welcomed everyone to the annual meeting, particularly new officers.

Item 2. President's Report.

President Gray summarized the 2005 annual report to AAA, highlighting the recommendations CSAS has made to the AAA Section Assembly and Executive Board. A copy will be posted on the web site. He also recognized the three recipients of CSAS awards in 2005.

The 2005 White Award was shared by Celine Miceli (U of Chicago) and Sarah Surface-Evans (Michigan State U). The 2005 Dillingham Award was given to Angela Glaros (U of Illinois Urbana-Champaign). Winner of the Graduate Student Paper Competition for 2005 was Jessica Smith (U of Michigan) and the Undergraduate Student Paper winner was Faris Khan (Hanover C).

Item 3. Secretary's Report.

Secretary J. Lucke summarized the minutes from the March 2005 Business meeting in Oxford, Ohio. The motion was made to accept the summarized minutes; the motion was seconded and passed by voice vote.

Item 4. Treasurer's Report.

Treasurer J. Lucke provided the figures from the most recent statement provided by AAA. See attached report. The motion was made to accept the treasurer's report; the motion was seconded and passed by voice vote.

Item 5. 2005 Program Chair Report.

Outgoing First Vice President MaryCarol Hopkins reported on the success of the current meeting citing 24 sessions with 114 presenters. Registration was just under 180. Vice President Hopkins thanked B. Dilly for her work in local arrangements, and everyone who organized a session. Distinguished Lecturer Paul Durrenberger and Creighton University were thanked for successful events. Everyone is encouraged to attend the Saturday evening jam session.

Item 6. First Vice President's Report.

First Vice President thanked the staff of the Sheraton Omaha for making the meeting a success. She also announced the 2007 annual meeting would be held in Minneapolis, Minnesota in April at the Radisson Plaza Hotel.

CSAS will host two invited sessions at the 2006 AAA annual meeting. Durrenberger and Feinberg have organized two interested sessions and all are encouraged to attend next November.

Item 7. Second Vice President's Report.

Incoming Second Vice President J. Hamill announced the 2007 annual meeting would be held in Minneapolis, Minnesota in April. Local host will be University of Minnesota. Any suggestions for sessions, speakers, or events for the next annual meeting should be forwarded to him. While the 2007 meeting will not have a theme, Hamill will give special consideration to sessions with Native American scholars and topics in honor of two recently departed Native American scholars.

Item 8. Committee Reports.

Nominations Committee. President Gray announced the nominees for the 2006 election process. Slate of candidates is as follows: Second Vice President—Barbara Dilly (Creighton U) and Claude Jacobs (U Michigan Dearborn); Board—Kathleen Adams (Loyola U Chicago), John Cinnamon (Miami U), and Harriet Ottenheimer (Kansas State U); and Nominations Committee—James Dow (Oakland U) and Cara Richards (Transylvania U). A motion was made to accept the report of the Nominations Committee; it was seconded and passed by voice vote. NOTE: AAA will be sending election ballots out via email *only* in 2006. Watch your inboxes for the notice.

CSAS Bulletin Editor. J. Hopgood asked that members keep sending him ideas for stories as well as member information and news. He reports the process of publishing our newsletter has become very smooth now UCP has taken over from AAA. He also hopes to institute a new format and elements to the newsletter in the new future. AN Newsletter Editors. Z. Ismail introduced herself as the new co-editor. She and Angela Martin ask members to send in news and short articles for inclusion in the monthly column.

Archivist. No Report.

Item 9. Old Business. No items brought before the membership.

Item 10. New Business.

- (1) Changing the Presidential Track. A call to the membership will be made for ideas and models of how might change the term structure for officers. The current model was briefly described. Job responsibilities are outlined in the current bylaws. B. Kaplan suggested job descriptions be written (beyond what is outlined in bylaws) and suggested reviewing the physical anthropologists' society as a model. R. Feinberg noted the problem is not really the responsibilities but the relationships and politics of working with AAA that need to be revised for continuity and effectiveness. M. Hopkins thought a list of skills for each office should be included so people can run for offices best suited to their strengths.
- (2) Resolution to Boycott the Coca-Cola Company. See attached for resolution. The SANA resolution has been making its way around the sections and the CSAS Board voted to support the resolution and try to find venues where Coke products are not used, noting this is almost impossible. But the resolution is supported in theory. The

membership also supports the resolution in theory. The question was raised just who and how expansive is the resolution being circulated – answer is unknown.

(3) Composition of CSAS sessions at Annual Meetings. There are members who disagree with organized sessions consisting of presenters from one campus, in particular if all the presenters are students. Ideally a session would consist of a mixture of presenters of different academic ranks and institutions. As the CSAS meetings have become more student oriented, sessions are increasingly exclusive to an institution, a majority of students (many undergraduates), and often times the result of a single class. The question raised becomes does this provide any value to the student presenter? The easiest solution is for the call for proposals to encourage organizers to diversify their sessions by doing some legwork and seeking presenters outside of their own departments. Another solution is to encourage the program chair to approach session organizers who may be willing to break up their session WHEN or IF other submissions could create logical, cohesive sessions centering on a topic or geographic area instead of institution or academic rank. Please use the CSAS list serve to put out calls for papers when you have an idea for a session – cross collaboration will build stronger networks and possibilities.

Item 11. Necrology.

A moment of silence was held for the following anthropologists who have passed on over the previous year: Vine DeLoria and Bea Medicine.

Item 12. Official Conference Thank Yous.

E. Paul Durrenberger (Pennsylvania State U), Distinguished Lecturer Harriett Ottenheimer (Kansas State U), documentary film maker Timothy Austin, Dean, College of Letters and Science, Creighton University Janelle Dexter, Sheraton Omaha Hotel Barbara Dilly, Department of Anthropology, Creighton University and 2006 Local Host MaryCarol Hopkins, 2006 Program Chair

Item 13. Announcements.

Any campus or person interested in hosting the 2008 meetings should contact us soon.

2006 Student Paper Competition deadline in mid-May. Undergraduate and Graduate divisions.

2006 White and Dillingham Awards will be accepting applications through mid-may.

Item 14. Changing of the Presidency.

Outgoing President P. Gray presented the mantle of the office to Incoming President MaryCarol Hopkins. President Hopkins thanked P. Gray for his service, and welcomed everyone to the 2006 annual meeting.

Item 15. Adjournment.

President Hopkins asked for a motion to bring the 2006 annual business meeting to a close. A motion was made, seconded, and the meeting was adjourned at 1:30pm.

Joyce J. Lucke

Joyce J. Lucke

Secretary

April 14, 2007